Day 87: Liberation (Holocaust memorial)

Liberation (Holocaust memorial)

One of the popular memorial/monuments in USA.

Liberation is a bronze Holocaust memorial created by the sculptor Nathan Rapoport, located in Liberty State Park in Jersey City, New Jersey

I wanted to capture a different look of this monument, so I tried to get as much low angle as I could. I used my camera’s variangle LCD feature again (very useful at times). Heavy sunlight was coming on front-side of the monuments so there was no way to get a proper exposure of overall photo (and if there is any, then I’ve to learn that). If I try to get the monument in perfect exposure then the sky was coming over exposed and in contrast, if I try to get sky properly then the lights on the monument were going under exposed. So I decided to try HDR on this one.

I took 4 images with different exposure (by changing shutter speed and keeping the rest of the settings as it is). Used ‘Photomatix Pro 4.1’ software to make HDR. I’m not expert in HDR but tried my best to get a better exposure in overall photo.

You can use this photo. I have contributed this photo on Wikipedia Commons. It is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported license.

Better quality Flickr link

I hope you will like it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

