Day 100: Victory Bridge, New Jersey

Victory Bridge

I’m li’l sad 😦 Again I missed two days. I had no good pictures and no good time to take new photographs.

Apart from that. I’m happy with this post as it’s my 100th post 🙂 Finally I made century of photo posts. Feeling awesome. Though I missed days, still I’m satisfied with what I’ve done and still 265 posts to go to complete my project-365 challenge. Long way to go.

So back to story of this photo. I finally got some time today evening. Few days ago while going to shoprite for grocery shopping, I saw this bridge for first time. I told my brother-in-law that I must come here to take some photographs. I loved the angle it was making.

Today I actually got much difficulty in taking photographs because I parked in a shopping mall and then went near bridge by walk. As I went near, I was losing that angle and couldn’t go more on left/right side because of fence and restricted area. So I went much nearer to bridge and went down to road below and right side of the bridge. I was getting the end part of bridge in the frame starting from where I was standing. Still I knew I will definitely get something interesting out of this too. I took almost all differently angled photos which anyone could take from that place. LoL.

Got few interesting ones. Post process this one first. Loved the texture I got on the bridge because of much increased sharpness. Composition looks eye catching with curves and lights on the bridge. And even those two bulbs flashing light on the bridge pillars gets special attention from me.

At the end, let me tell you briefly about this bridge.

The Victory Bridge carries Route 35 over the Raritan River, connecting the Middlesex County communities of Perth Amboy on the north and Sayreville to the south. The new bridge replaced the old Victory Bridge, dedicated to the U.S. troops who served in World War I and opened in 1926. At the time of its construction, the original 360-foot bridge was the longest such structure in New Jersey.

The new bridge consists of twin structures (northbound and southbound) each carrying two 12-foot travel lanes, a 10-foot bike lane / outside shoulder and a three-foot shoulder. The southbound bridge also has a six-foot wide sidewalk. The bridge was designed with a record-setting 134-meter (440-foot) main span-the longest precast cantilever segmental construction in the United States.

Very nice quality Flickr link

See you tomorrow. Till then Good Night, Alvida, Shabba Khair, Shub Ratri.

Leave a Reply

