Photo Post 122: Empty Sky (September 11 memorial)

Empty Sky

I was very satisfied yesterday. I took some of the best photographs when I went to Liberty State Park to shoot The Tribute in Light (Annual 9/11 memorial).

As soon as came back to New Jersey, I started looking for photography groups on Meetup. While looking at recent photo events around my area, I saw the ‘tribute in light’ Photowalk organized by a recently formed group Somerset Photography. At that time I was not much aware of the tribute light memorial. I searched on Google and came to know everything. On December 17, 2009, Municipal Art Society of New York said 2011 would be the last year as to tribute the tenth anniversary of the attacks in 2011, but the beacon of lights was back for one night again this year. So I got excited to visit this place on 9/11 day. I joined the group and RSVP’d for the event.

I came in contact the group organizers cum two awesome photographers, Loren Fisher and Nat Clymer. I went with them in Loren’s car.

We went little early to get some photos in during the “blue hour”. As soon as we reached there, we saw two huge walls (official New Jersey September 11 memorial to the state’s victims of the September 11 attacks on the United States) called Empty Sky.  They are extremely unique and superbly constructed. It was dedicated and opened for the public last year on September 11th. Names of New Jersey residents who died on 9/11 are etched on the inside of two walls.

Sky was superbly colorful at that time, so we all started taking photographs of the memorial in such a way that we can get the sky colors on the back side of the walls. I got one awesome photograph from that side. Then I went to another side from where I could see the New York skyline behind the walls.

I successfully managed to get one building exactly in the center. I’m sharing that photo with you. The yellow lights turned on after the natural lights got pretty low, and that made perfect timing for my photograph.

I just love this photo and many more which I took yesterday. I will definitely share few best with you. I already shared one with you yesterday.

Please take a look at: Better quality Flickr link

See you tomorrow. Till then Good Night, Alvida, Shabba Khair, Shub Ratri.

3 thoughts on “Photo Post 122: Empty Sky (September 11 memorial)

Leave a Reply

